Pay it Forward – Does it really Work?

pay-forward-society.jpg

I first heard about the concept of Pay it Forward when I stumbled upon the movie with the same name, while channel surfing a few years ago. It’s a movie about a young boy, who as part of a class project, tries to make a difference in the world by doing kind deeds for people – in other words, paying it forward. The idea was simple – that if you helped someone and they in turn helped someone else, the world would be a better place.

As I was sitting in Ohio Stadium last year, ready to watch my Buckeyes take on Texas, I glanced at the scoreboard and noticed the words Pay Forward Society. Intrigued, I asked about it and got a lesson on the man – Woody Hayes. Apparently,  he was known for often saying “You can never pay back; but you can always pay forward. It is part of his legacy.

My mother always taught me that what goes around comes around, which is a similar principle. If you do good things, good things will come back to you. If you do bad things, they will eventually catch up to you. If you think about it, it’s a pretty freeing concept. If someone has wronged you, you don’t have to waste precious time seeking revenge, you just have to have faith that the situation will eventually take care of itself. In retrospect, it has never let me down.

I don’t think there are any rules to Pay it Forward. It can be as simple as a smile to a stranger. What I do know is that life is too short to waste on negativity and love is too powerful not to share. Pay if Forward. How can it not work?

2 thoughts on “Pay it Forward – Does it really Work?

  1. I have been paying it forward for years now. I am a renowned chef in the Chapel Hill area and frequently host “Pay it Forward” dinners. I have found that giving people a 5 course meal with wine pairings for FREE, plus giving them 20 bucks apiece when they walk in the door has increased my good karma by 22.7% (approximately). Sorry it has taken so long to respond but I have been so busy paying it forward for the last 3 years that I barely have time to cook free meals anymore! So I hope this correspondence reaches the proper eyes and that I can go back to paying it forward for many years to come. Good luck and BTW, what is up with Haley Joel Osment these days??? I mean come on…Why did he have to grow up so fast and die in SO many movies?? He makes me sad…

    Colin

  2. Pingback: Pssst…look what I got! The Good Karma Swap « Dish on Design

Leave a Reply

