My Dining Room Makeover – Part III

If you have been following my Dining Room Makeover, I am sooooo happy to tell you that it is 90% done! I painted into the wee hours a few weeks back after work and shopped in record time to find the final things I needed to at least have it 90% done for the graduation party. Sorry it took so long to get you more details, but I have been really busy getting a new product out. I’ll tell you about that soon! I’ll have more pictures in a week or so, but here’s a sneak preview.

Since my last post I have finished the paint, found carpet and had it installed, purchased really beautiful fabric for the chairs (for $39.00 I might add!),  decided on draperies (which are bought and hung) and found a perfect oversized picture to pull it all together.

I still need to re-upholster my chairs, purchase a chandelier, hang the medalion, and take some more pictures. I’ll give you more details too! In the mean time…here’s a sneak preview.

The carpet is a cut/loop combination in gold with a diamond pattern. Since the room is monochromatic (one color with varios shades of it) I made sure to pull in lots of patterns and texture for interest. The silk drapes are ready made from linens and things in a large plaid pattern of ivory and gold. They were $89.00 a panel, 96 inches long and fully lined – not a bad deal!

Above you can also see the reversible fabric for the dining room chairs. Of course our beloved Beanie had to get in the picture. He’s a cat that my son brought home from college one day that somehow became ours. My new neighbors actually asked me the other day if our invisible fence would work for beanie. Apparently, he is quite social  thing and greets their indoor cats at their window every morning. He’s even left a few moles at their doorstep, which anyone who has cats knows tha it’s his way of saying welcome to the neighborhood. Tell me, how can you not love him back? Anyway, back to the dining room.

My last picture for the day is one of the painting I found at Linens and Things as well. I actually saw it first at Kirklands and couldn’t decide on it, then saw it when buying the draperies and decided to try it. It’s huge, in fact it wouldn’t fit in my car and my husband had to pick it up in his truck on the day of graduation. It turned out to be quite perfect with shades of creme and gold. I really like that it is oversized and pulls together the room. I know you probably want to see the whole room, but I can’t stand to give you a final shot without the chandelier and new seats. I’ll try to get that done soon!

Oh, and here’s the graduation girl – hooray for Ashley…my first college graduate! Isn’t she fabulous 🙂

One thought on “My Dining Room Makeover – Part III

Leave a Reply

