Look what’s Cooking while I’m at the Office; Dehydrating Tomatoes and Onions

Tomatoes and Onions with a bit of Olive Oil and Seasoning

 

While in Florida a few weeks ago, I visited new blogger and good friend – Lisa of PickMeYard. Her home smelled soooooo yummy as she dehydrated dozens of fresh strawberries picked from her truly amazing garden. 

I had never used a dehydrator and because I am a sponge for new ideas – was excited to learn more from Lisa. I discover I could purchase a basic model at Wal-Mart for $39.00 or for a small price increase one that features a temperature control for $58.54 . 

Last night I experimented drying banana’s, strawberries and apples – they turned out delicious. It’s so easy…all you have to do is slice up your fruits of choice and place on trays. Note: I did soak my apples for 5 minutes in orange juice to prevent them from turning brown. Twelve hours later…done! Actually it was all delicious at 3 hours, 6 hours, 9 hours – not as crisp, but warm and chewy.  Now that I think about it, we were lucky to have any left after 12 hours – haha! 

I'm going to have to make a secret stash...they're not going to last long around here

Time to secretly stash some of these...they aren't going to last long around this house

 

This morning, before heading out to the office I sliced up some fresh tomatoes and onions, spread them on the trays, brushed with Olive Oil and topped with a bit of my husbands favorite seasoning. They will be a nice add to dinner tonight! I’ll let you know how they turned out. 

I really like my new dehydrator…it provides a great (and easy) way to make a healthy crunchy snack. Plus, don’t you hate it when there’s fruit in the house that only has a day or two of life before going bad? I know I do… with the dehydrator I can make sure none of it goes to waste. What a great way to make a healthy snack for both kids and adults. 

This weekend the guys are going to try making some Jerkey. xoxox Amy

One thought on “Look what’s Cooking while I’m at the Office; Dehydrating Tomatoes and Onions

  1. Pingback: UPDATE: Dehydrating Tomatoes and Onions « Dish on Design

Leave a Reply

