UPDATE: Dehydrating Tomatoes and Onions

Simply Delicious. YUM!

You may remember that last week I blogged about dehydrating tomatoes and onions while working at the office. I promised you an update when finished. My friend Lisa over at PickMeYard suggested I add some olive oil and seasoning to my tomatoes and I decided to do the same to some onions…boy, am I glad I did!  

Once I got over my initial shock of how small everything had gotten, after 12 hours I took the now dried onions and tomatoes off the trays and sampled one…or two…or three. Oh my….while the tomatoes are soooooo good, the onions are double delicious. I would eat both of these by the handful as a healthy yummy snack and can’t wait to sprinkle them on a salad. I’m thinking they would be fabulous if crushed and used as a breading of sorts for chicken or fish. Oh… the possibilities that are swirling through my head….mmmmm  

The bottom line on the dehydrator is I can’t wait to try it more. I will always make two or three times more because of shrinkage and can’t wait to experiment. My husband’s favorite is the apples. Mine is the onions and tomatoes…which I should add is not really a normal favorite of mine. Let me know if you try it or if you have a favorite already! xoxoxo Amy

One thought on “UPDATE: Dehydrating Tomatoes and Onions

  1. After I posted this, I crushed some seasoned croutons along with a handful of the dried tomatoe and onions. I brushed chicken with olive oil and then pressed the crushed topping into the top of the chicken. My husband LOVED it…I have to say it was quite tasty! xoxox Amy

Leave a Reply

