Beautiful Living is Good For You!

From Elle Decor: Apartment of Inès de la Fressange—fashion designer, model

 

I deeply believe that a beautiful decor can have a beneficial influence on our lives. ~ Albert Hadley      

It’s true. I believe this too… surrounding yourself with beauty makes you feel good. In fact, I’ll add that it reduces stress and, if it’s a well-organized home,  it will save you time and money as well. Here’s what I know…      

  • A home that is beautiful doesn’t have to cost a lot. It’s about surrounding yourself with things that you love and getting rid of things that do not serve a purpose or haven’t been used for a long time and will likely never be used.  If it doesn’t have a purpose or you don’t love it, get rid of it.
  • Arrange your furniture to embrace your lifestyle… create conversation areas, highlight accessories that are meaningful, designate an area for creative projects, define a place for relaxation or reading. Make it easy to be you.
  • Embrace color. It’s true that colors can affect the way that you feel. My entire lower level is shades of yellow. It makes me smile in the morning and  in the evening, warms me with a gentle glow as the sun sets in the horizon.  I never tire of  comfort those colors provide.
  • Make time for your home and yourself. I am the biggest offender of this. You would think, being a designer,  that my home would be beautiful and organized. The truth is that I have put so much energy into our company and developing company products that my home and self have been on the back burner.

The good news is it is never too late to refocus…I am  working like a mad woman… getting my house into shape (on a budget with lots of DIY projects, first priority is using what I already have in my home) and taking time to do things for me and my health. It’s amazing how good you feel when you start decorating, eating healthy foods, reducing clutter and taking your iron supplements. I’ve been revitalized at work as well; there are some pretty exciting things in the works… and lucky you…I’ll be sharing it all with you along the way – haha! xoxoxo Amy     

(Very) Personal Note: For all you anemic gals out there, if you have been putting off taking iron supplements because of the incredibly annoying side effect of (whispering…) constipation…try Floravital. I am in no way being paid to promote this product, it works for me and finally I feel like my usually, energetic self.

Leave a Reply

