Cleaning a One Piece Shower Insert and Glass Doors

Shower inserts with glass doors look beautiful, but cleaning them is often challenging

 

I have to tell you I have a love hate relationship with my one piece shower inserts. I love that there is no grout to clean… I hate that they are so hard to clean. Unless you are religious about cleaning them and I, for one am not, they can get a build up of soap scum and who-knows-what that is nearly impossible to clean.  

Years ago, I found a miracle-like solution for glass shower doors from a furniture craftsman. I hired him to refinish the CEO’s desk and happened to pop in when he was delivering the finished product. He did a quick once-over with lemon oil, which he said was the best oil to use on furniture. He also off-handedly noted it’s great for cleaning shower doors. Really? Shower doors? Yep, in fact it does an amazing job on shower doors. The new Mr. Clean sponges do a good job too, but lemon oil… well, it’s the bomb.  

This stuff is fabulous for furniture and makes cleaning soap scum off of shower doors a breeze!

 

 I actually spent an hour or more the other night researching reviews of products and googling “how to clean a shower insert” and found nothing that I hadn’t tried. For years I had a shelf full of useless products that once had sadly given me so much hope. I  tried everything and was about to try extreme measures of a heavy-duty scouring pad and really strong goo remover, but when walking down the aisle at Lowe’s on Sunday, for some reason, a slim sexy can of  Scrubbing Bubbles Mega Shower Foamer caught my eye. And in a totally irrational moment, I was willing to try it as a last-ditch effort to get my shower floors clean.  

I think I'm in love...

 

I did lightly use these scouring pads, but not too hard because I didn't want to cause any scratches.

 

This is how hard it was… and let me tell you… I have spent hours and much muscle power in the past, so I was expecting the worst…  

  • I walked into my bathroom.
  • I sprayed scrubbing bubbles on 1/2 of my shower floor and a portion of a wall.
  • I walked away for 2 minutes.
  • I bent down on my knees and lightly rubbed in a circular motion with my green Scotch Brite Scouring Pad.

And guess what… before my eyes and without breaking a sweat… those evil dirty soap scum stains were vanishing right before my eyes. The cloudy hard water marks on the shower sides? Gone! I think I am in love. Seriously in love.  

I did use my Mr. Clean Magic Eraser on a few spots of mildew on the track of the glass doors… I love those too.  

These magical sponges are great for removing mildew, water spots and so much more. Quite clever, they are!

 

I should tell you that  I am writing this of free will.  No one is paying me to promote their product. It’s just that when you find something that works, you want to share it with friends.. Let me know if it works for you or if you have any amazing cleaning solutions that you’d like to share! xoxox. Amy

One thought on “Cleaning a One Piece Shower Insert and Glass Doors

Leave a Reply

