Breakfast from the Backyard

Yep, life is rough this morning as we have to walk out the back door to this...

 

 Today and tomorrow, I have the pleasure of staying with fellow blogger and friend; Lisa of PickMeYard. Envision a deer in head-lights and that’s me. I live in the mid-west and back in the day I spent several years in the heart of NYC. Apparently I have a lot to learn about gardening. My kids grew up on macaroni and cheese from a box, happy meals and fruit roll ups. Lisa’s kids walk through her garden eating leaves and whatever else they feel like at the moment. I mean really…her three year old walked in from the garden this morning with a scallion (onion) in one hand and tomato in the other and promptly ATE THEM. Are you kidding me? I am soaking up info like a sponge… I’ve been slowly going organic, getting healthy, losing weight, blah, blah, blah…and I am enthralled.   

This morning I ate breakfast that seriously was straight from the backyard. …  Get this… their chickens laid the eggs we ate this morning and I am telling you they were delicious. Grayson, her gardening assistant and eight year old son went out to gather the eggs..        

Our friend Magnolia was kind enough to gift us with an egg along with her fellow friends Sweet Pea, Jasimine, Daisy, Snow White and more…
 
Awwww…thanks Magnolia!

 Lisa lightly sprayed a frying pan, filled it with water, brought it to just under a boil, cracked the eggs and cooked for about 10 minutes.      

The eggs cooked for about 10 minutes or so...mine were just slightly firm which is how I like them. Cook them a bit shorter if you like them runny.

 

 From her garden…meaning she walked out side, picked a few sprigs to top off our eggs…she added seasoning. Check it out…      

This is where we snipped some herbs this morning for our eggs

Three year old Loring headed straight for the scallion...

 

and made sure to sample them to ensure they were perfect...

 

of course they were delicious...she loves her scallions...

 

While she nibbled on the scallion, Lisa snipped some Thyme...

 

and a bit of Summer Savory....

 

Meanwhile, Grayson was busy harvesting some sunflower seeds for a blog Lisa is working on. Hmmm...I think those would grow in my yard 🙂

 

 Minutes later…     

Yummy…

I am telling you it was just delicious…She served them with chunky salsa and fresh tomatoes out of her yard. At my house, we are goetta and hashbrown eaters on Sunday’s at home, but this may be our new Sunday menu. It’s just as good and so much healthier!     

Oh, I have soooooo much to share with you this week and next…gotta run, I have my office set up here and have lots to do…just wanted to share my morning with you! We’re going on a ride down the river tonight…yay! xoxoxo     

       

Leave a Reply

