What I Know about Happiness…

Today is Wednesday… we’re halfway through the week and heading to the weekend. Are you happy today? Someone was venting to me yesterday about some really legit horrible things that a formerly significant other had done to her. She is right, he was pretty hateful. She also is at a pretty unhappy point in her life. I understand how she feels. But here is what I know…

Happiness is a choice. No one can make you miserable unless you allow them to. You have a choice to be happy right now or to waste a precious day being miserable.

Let me repeat the most important line of this post…

No one can make you miserable unless you allow them to ~ from Self Matters, by Dr. Phil

That line changed my life years ago. It really pissed me off when I first read it, because all of a sudden I was not a victim – I was responsible, but once I realized that I was in control of my life and of my happiness, I ran with it. Sadness, anger, frustration, hurt… are feelings we all experience at times in our life.  I think it’s what you do with them that matters. I’ll give you that a good cry can be healing, but mostly… it’s best to pick yourself up, look around you, move on and feel the joy of today. I choose happiness today, do you? xo Amy

P.S. Whether you love or hate Dr. Phil, Self Matters is one of the best books I have ever read. There are some great exercises to help you understand yourself going back to childhood, how you react to situations and more. If you are “stuck” in your life, looking to grow as a person or in an unhealthy relationship- this is a great book to read

P.S.S. If you want to be inspired by a pretty special blogger, check out Ashley over at Lil Blue Boo. She is creative, a gentle soul, looks for Joy in everyday, a mom and battling cancer. I look forward to reading her posts everyday!

2 thoughts on “What I Know about Happiness…

  1. Pingback: Ten Things Your Class Reunion Will Teach You « Dish on Design

Leave a Reply

