Recipe: A Sugary Scrub for a Delightfully Soft You!

Are you ready for swimsuit season? Is your skin silky smooth? If you’re like me, the answer to both are a resounding no! I can’t help with bathing suit issues, but I can help you get silky smooth skin!

Whenever I go to Florida to work with GiGi, one of the highlights of the trip is a visit to our friend Kati. She’s a Licensed Esthetician in Clewiston  and West Palm Beach – a visit with her is nothing short of amazing. Kati does facials, microdermabrasion, chemical peels, waxing and more.

If you’ve never had a microdermabrasion session, you don’t know what you’re missing. Basically, it sloughs off the dead skin and leaves your face feeling like a baby’s butt silky smooth. Make-up goes on better, your face glows… it’s just awesome. I highly recommend it for anyone, even if you’re in your twenties. Trust me on this… you will love it. Add in a gentle Pumpkin Chemical Peel (doesn’t make me flaky) and you will think you are in heaven. Really, you deserve this treat. You will thank me.

Speaking of treats, the last time I saw Kati, I asked if she minded if I shared her recipe for an amazing head-to-toe sugar scrub with you and she said she didn’t mind! Isn’t she sweet? She really is the best! Kati sells the scrub at her office, but since most of you can’t get there, I thought you might want to make your own at home! She uses it on her face and body everyday! Apparently it works, because when she told me her age, I had to pick my jaw up off the floor. Kati commented on yesterday’s blog after I mentioned her scrub and said this…

I use this every night in the shower. It is a wonderful way to exfoliate your entire body. I even use this scrub on my face. The sunflower oil leaves just enough moisturizer on your body without feeling greasy

Enough talk… here’s the recipe!

KATI’S SUGAR SCRUB:

You will need:

  • 15-16 oz of sugar
  • 4 oz of sunflower oil (or Safflower oil if you can’t find the sunflower) Note:  you can add more if you want, but even though it looks dry, it really isn’t)
  • 4-5 drops of the essential oil of your choice.
Directions:
Mix all ingredients together. The mixture will appear dry, but it really isn’t. You can add more oil if you want, but try it first before you do! I couldn’t find Sunflower Oil and Kati said Safflower oil will work too! I got my oils at Whole Foods.
Put mixture in a jar and enjoy!
A word of caution: Shower floors may become slippery! Make sure to rinse well! If you make as a gift, add some ribbon or twine and a disposable baby spoon to use as a scoop!Let me know what you think if you try it! I think you’ll love it…  Thanks Kati! xo Amy
3 thoughts on “Recipe: A Sugary Scrub for a Delightfully Soft You!

  1. I’ve honestly never used a scrub, but I love the idea of using it on my face, to help with my makeup application. Thanks again Amy!

  2. Pingback: Weekend Project: Gardener’s Sugar Hand Scrub « Dish on Design

Leave a Reply

