Papaya Smoothie with Pumpkin Spice

This morning I discovered I had a Papaya I needed to eat – it was getting pretty ripe. It wasn’t a fresh one off GiGi’s tree pictured above, but it still tasted pretty good! Instead of using it to make my morning fruit juice I decided to make a smoothie in my blender. I do love smoothies and this one was pretty darn good! Here’s the recipe…

Papaya Pumpkin Spice Smoothie

  • Large papaya cut up – seeds and skin removed
  • 1 cup of milk, almond milk or vanilla flax milk
  • 2 tsp of vanilla
  • Very generous dash of pumpkin pie spice or you can use cinnamon
  • TBSP of flax seeds
  • TBSP of chia seeds

Slice the Papaya in half and remove seeds…

I find that a grapefruit spoon works really well to get the seeds out…

If you don’t have one of these handy little spoons, you really should!

Next, scoop out the insides. I forgot to take a picture… sorry, I was hungry and a slacker, I know… but I sliced the halves long ways, then cut away the skin.

In a blender, add the milk, papaya, pumpkin spice, vanilla, flax and chia seeds…

Place the lid on the blender, flip the switch and mix it till smooth!

I did remember to take a photo before took a sip… wasn’t that thoughtful?

It’s gone now and it was delicious.

As far as I can figure, this smoothie has less than 300 calories and chock-full of good things including 391% of daily recommended vitamin C… guess I’m good on that for the day! Try one! I think you’ll like it!

Leave a Reply

