The Pioneer Woman and My Version of Chicken Florentine

One night a few years ago, I stumbled upon a blog called The Pioneer Woman. I heart her. She’s a city girl who met and fell in love with a real life cowboy. Originally, it was their story that captivated me. First written on her blog, this true-life love story called Black Heels to Tractor Wheels is available now in paperback – it’s really good, but lately, I’m more taken by her recipes.

At least once a week I go to her website www.thepioneerwoman.com to find a new recipe to try. They never fail me. In my quest to become a better cook and to eat healthier, I’m experimenting with new ingredients and spices that are often like a foreign language to me. My confidence in myself as a cook is expanding in that I am now not afraid to make changes to recipes.

As you know, I love to juice – one of my favorite juice recipes is green juice with an ingredient of baby spinach leaves. Up until this point, I’ve never used baby spinach leaves for anything other than juicing or salads… until last week that is.

Pioneer Woman posted a recipe for Chicken Florentine Pasta. It looked delicious with the bonus of being easy and healthy. The recipe uses cooked spinach and I discovered I had no idea what I was missing! I’ll refer you to her website for the recipe – that’s only fair I think, but I will tell you that I made an executive decision to add two ingredients – mushrooms which I sautéed along with the onions and a can of sliced olives which I stirred into the chopped mushroom stems – I was so glad I did! So yummy! Have you tried any new recipes lately? xo Amy

Click here for the Pioneer Woman’s Recipe for Chicken Florentine Pasta

P.S. She has a new cookbook out that looks pretty good too! It’s called The Pioneer Woman Cooks. She scared the heck out of me at Wal-Mart the other day, ha!

P.S.S I am not being compensated for this post… I just really love her recipes!

Leave a Reply

