Happy Mother’s Day!

Happy Mothers Day everyone!  I’m counting my blessings today – thankful I’m a mom to three perfect children… well, perfect for me, anyway and so grateful that my mom will be over later to celebrate being moms together!

The husband is out fishing for the morning – I do love some quiet time, but he’ll be back soon. While he’s gone, on TV via DVD I’m listening/watching/singing/jamming to Adele in Concert Live at The Royal  Albert Hall…

It comes with a CD as well, but the concert DVD is fabulous – I highly recommend it! It’s $14.99 on Amazon – a great deal.

Later this afternoon our home will be less quiet.  My oldest son Michael, his girlfriend Ashley, my daughter Ashley and my parents will be stopping by for dinner.  Some good friends may stop by as well, along with my aunt and uncle. Tyler (our youngest) and his girlfriend Jaimie are in NYC and Ashley’s fiance Greg is at the firehouse – we will definitely be missing them. Hopefully, we’ll get some FaceTime in tonight!

As I listen to Adele, I’m busy cleaning and cooking. Yes, I know it’s Mother’s day, but there’s really nothing I would rather be doing than cooking for my family because that means we are all together. Cleaning? Okay, well that’s a different matter… I’m lightly cleaning, but my mother told me something once as I stressed over getting my house ready for a party. She said…

In the end, people won’t remember you for how clean your house is, but the time that you spent with them.

I think that is one of the best pieces of advice she ever gave me… it’s so true, don’t you think? What advice did your mom give you that you’ll pass on to your children someday?

It’s funny how things change. When my kids were younger, I would have given anything to go out to eat and get out of cooking, but now I treasure it. Today I’m making a new rule:  Clean-up happens after everyone leaves. Sometimes I find I’m so wrapped up in getting the kitchen back in order after dinner, that by the time I finish cleaning, everyone is ready to leave. Today, I’m going to sit down and chat with everyone – I’ve been trying to do this lately and it’s so much more enjoyable. After all, it really is about spending time with those you love – not getting things cleaned up!

This is what’s on the menu today…

  • Grilled burgers, brats, metts and falafel Burgers
  • Grilled yellow and white corn on the cob
  • Crock pot potatoes with onion and parmesan
  • Halved avocados topped with goodies
  • Chocolate cheesecake brownies with hot fudge icing, whipped cream and a cherry

The last three are new recipes I’ve changed up a bit, so if good, I’ll make sure to share this week!

I was planning on planting flowers today, but the rain nixed that plan. Hopefully, I can do that tomorrow night and share some photos this week.

Another project on the to-do-list this week is experimenting with chalk paint and milk paint – look for posts on that this week! I can’t wait to try them!

In the meantime, have a GREAT mothers day! xo Amy

2 thoughts on “Happy Mother’s Day!

  1. Happy Mother’s Day!
    I’m going to pass on this advice to my kids: “To acquire true self power you have to feel beneath no one, be immune to criticism and be fearless”-Deepak Chopra.
    I’m looking forward to the milk paint post!

Leave a Reply

