Weekend Project: Gardener’s Sugar Hand Scrub

My friend Robyn stopped by the other day and brought me this adorable mini mason jar wrapped with twine. She filled it with a wonderful Gardener’s Scrub she made from a recipe she found on Pinterest –  I do love that site!  I’ve been planting flowers this week and oh boy, did I need it!

I love the Sugar Scrub I make for my face and body – you can find that recipe here, but this scrub is different because it’s mixed with detergent to get your hands squeaky clean. I didn’t have her recipe, but I found several on-line and decided to create my own version to both soften and clean your hands so I could share it with you! Here it is…

GARDENER’S SUGAR HAND SCRUB

  • 1 small glass container – 4- or 5 oz (I used a 4 oz jelly jar)
  • 1/2 cup of sugar
  • 1/8 – 1/4 cup of Dishwashing Detergent (I used 1/4 cup of Lemon Dawn)
  • 1 tbsp of Sunflower Oil (can also use safflower, grapeseed or olive oil)
  • Optional: 3-4 drops of essential oil (I used mint)

Simply mix ingredients, put into decorative jar or small dish, add a small spoon and keep at sink next to your handsoap!

Voila! It’s easy to do and you probably have ingredients on hand to make it right now!

Grab a small mixing bowl and dump in a 1/2 cup of sugar…

Add an 1/8 or 1/4 cup of dishwashing detergent. I used 1/4 cup – I wanted more detergent because my hands get pretty dirty since I don’t often use gloves…

Use whatever detergent you have on hand! I used Lemon Dawn.

Next add a tbsp of Sunflower Oil…

This is what I have on hand for my face/body scrub, but since this is for your hands you could substitute olive oil, safflower oil or grapeseed oil…

add a few drops of essential oil if you have it…

I used Peppermint with Lemon Dawn detergent because that’s what I had, but I’m thinking Lemon Dawn with Orange essential oil would be really good too!

Next, mix it all up…

Pour into a small jar – I used a small 4 oz Jelly Jar and added a stainless steel teaspoon…

This summer you will always find a jar of this good stuff next to my dish soap on top of my sink…

Enjoy! Amy xo

Leave a Reply

