Weekend Project: A Handy Little Tool to Clean out your Drains

Warning: This is gross. Disgusting really, but something that must be shared. Because you are my friend, I ask that if you are eating, to either finish up before you continue or put your food aside. Food and this post won’t mix well.

I have to admit I’ve really never looked down my drains before. Truth be told, if the shower drain gets clogged I call my husband, but when I was in Florida a few weeks ago Gigi’s drain was slow and she pulled out this handy little tool

It’s called the Zip-It Drain Cleaner. For a whopping $5.13 you can have it shipped to your door. I did and this is where I got mine – Amazon. Today, I found while searching for it on-line that CVS sells it for $3.99 or you could order it on-line from Sears for a whopping $2.24 and pick it up in the store to get free shipping.

If the words fast, inexpensive and instantly rewarding appeal to you, I suggest you try it.

I really didn’t think I had a drain problem, they were draining pretty well, but when my new tool came in the mail I had to try it immediately and look what I found in the first sink I tackled…

Yep. Disgusting. I warned you. The flip side is it feels really good to know that is no longer in my sink. I have 6 bathroom sinks and it took me a total of 30 minutes start to finish to clean them out. Not a bad investment of time!

But wait! On closer look, what is this?

Yep. A long-lost earring from long ago. I have no idea who’s it is and I didn’t bother to clean it up – it was gross and broken, but that was unexpected, haha! This thing works, I’m telling you!

I carried a zip lock bag and paper towels to dispose of the goop along with Clorox spray cleaner and a scrub brush  to clean the bottom of the stopper which was pretty yuk, too. A bottle cleaner would have been nice to clean the top of the drain too, but I didn’t have one on hand and looking back, rubber gloves would be pretty nifty too. When done, I simply cleaned the tool with some Clorox. I see on-line they sell them in bulk, but I don’t see why you need more than one. It’s  still in perfectly good shape after using it.

Now go have some fun this weekend! xo Amy

P.S. I was not paid to write about the Zip-It… I just really liked it 🙂

One thought on “Weekend Project: A Handy Little Tool to Clean out your Drains

Leave a Reply

