Easy Banana Avocado “Ice Cream” with Almonds and Chia Seeds

This morning I saw a post by Sarah over at Thrifty Decor Chic with a recipe for Banana Avocado Ice Cream. Really? She swore it was really delicious so, being the trusting person that I am,  I thought I’d try it for myself. Someone commented over on her post that in their country (Australia), they use avocados for sweets such as puddings, frozen treats, etc..  After tasting it, I totally get that! This afternoon I made a double batch and changed it up a bit by adding Chia Seeds and unsalted almonds.

This is sooooo easy! All you need is 5-7  ingredients, ice, a blender and a bit of patience while it freezes. Here’s how to make it…

Banana Avocado Ice Cream with Almonds and Chia Seeds

  • 2 ripe avocado’s (pit removed and scooped out of shell)
  • 2 banana’s (preferably frozen, but not necessary)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 cup almond vanilla milk, silk  or milk
  • 2 tsp vanilla
  • 1 cup of ice
  • 2 Tbsp Chia Seeds (optional)
  • 1/4 cup of unsalted almonds (optional)

Dump all ingredients into blender and chop/blend until smooth. Taste. Say yum. Then pour into a glass container with lid and freeze.

It really is that good. I’m thinking this will make at least 8 servings. I plugged the ingredients into free Livestrong’s Calorie Counter and it comes out to only 185 calories. It really is delicious! I may try making it with Stevia next time which would make it at less than 120 calories per serving. Below are some photo’s I took as I made it… enjoy

You might already have most or all of this in hand…

You can almost always find a bag of frozen bananas in my freezer. They are perfect for times like this and to make banana smoothies as well…

Once you’ve blended all the ingredients (sorry, I forgot to take a photo of that) pour into a glass dish and freeze for several hours. It took about 4 hours for mine to get pretty solid…

Once frozen grab a melon scoop to dish it out mini balls and serve in a china bowl to make it special. This bowl was my grandmothers – I love to find a reason to use it…

Happy Memorial Day! Be safe, have fun! xo Amy

5 thoughts on “Easy Banana Avocado “Ice Cream” with Almonds and Chia Seeds

  1. I think it should be two avacados not two almonds!!!! I think you need to get back to Florida and get your face done, ha ha I miss you . Kati. When are you coming back?

  2. Pingback: I scream, you scream, we all scream for (banana) ice cream | f00dventures

  3. Pingback: Organic Raw Vegan Living Creamy Chia Ambrosia Creme Nice Pudding. | Gold Within

Leave a Reply

