Exploring Chalk Paint and Milk Paint- Part II

I started exploring Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint and Old Fashioned Milk Paint a week or so ago. It’s been fun, rewarding and sometimes downright aggravating. I’m still working on my original projects that you can see here – they all are almost done, but then I keep adding new projects like the mirror pictured above which you just can’t mess up or painting this credenza that Ashley and I found at Goodwill last weekend for $30.00…

Before: Solid wood base and hideous laminate top. Yes. Chalk paint covers up laminate without priming or sanding.

It isn’t done yet – I need to add a coat of Annie Sloan’s dark wax, but here’s the drawers as I started…

and an almost finished sneak preview…

You also may have seen the container pots I painted for my Herb Garden:

Here’s what you need to know about painting OUTDOOR items with Chalk Paint:

  1. No need to prime, but make sure the surface is clean
  2. Paint 1 coat. Let it dry an hour or so and add another coat if necessary. I didn’t need two coats and in small areas I left a bit of the terracotta exposed for a worn look.
  3. Let dry an hour, than if desired grab a piece of sand paper and distress edges or areas to expose original color below paint.
  4. Let sit for 24 hours before using.

I hope you can handle it. It’s so simple stupid… this Chalk Paint is a dream to use.

You really can’t screw it up and even if like me, you hate have little patience for painting or lack the time or desire often required for the traditional ways of re-finishing a piece of furniture, don’t despair… you may, like me, change your mind once you’ve discovered Chalk Paint.

So that was a quick update. I definitely will share specifics on both products soon along with some simple tutorials, but in the meantime I will say this: I adore, love, am addicted to Chalk Paint. Milk Paint… not so much.  I am keeping an open mind to Milk Paint, but am sold hook, line and sinker on Chalk Paint. It’s done deal where that’s concerned.

Stay tuned and have a great day! xo Amy

P.S. And by the way, I am not being paid or compensated in any way for this post.

2 thoughts on “Exploring Chalk Paint and Milk Paint- Part II

  1. I do love the chalk paint too. Very easy to work with, and I am sure it would be even better, if I actually spent the money and bought Annie Sloan’s chalk paint, instead of making my own. I have not tried the milk paint, and am anxious to hear what you think about it! Sue

Leave a Reply

