I Spy…Aesthetics: It’s Often About the Little Things

I am in the middle of about 20 projects this weekend. I made a list of unfinished projects I want to complete by Sunday and so far I’ve crossed off four – laundry, a trip to Lowe’s, drop-off to GoodWill and grocery shopping. I figured I’d sit and blog for a few minutes because my back is aching from moving a dresser the other day, so dumb.  I took 2 Advil gel caps (the best, don’t you think?) and thought I’d say hello as I wait for it to kick in. Do you want to play a quick game of Interior Decorating  I Spy?

It’s a fun thing we play at Decorate Fabulously Workshops and it’s one of my favorite design-related things to do. I first “played” it back in college at The Fashion Institute of Technology in an aesthetics class. I don’t know why, but it stuck with me and it’s something I probably do sub-consciously almost every day: I examine things and figure out why I do or do not like them. In class, my professor would show us slides of buildings, rooms, statues, lamps, furniture, etc. and we would discuss our thoughts. Did we love it? Hate it? Either way, the object of the  exercise was to evaluate why we felt the way we did. Usually, if we didn’t like it, it was because something was aesthetically wrong. Just as important as identifying what we felt was good or bad, if we didn’t like it, we discussed how we could fix it. I think it was one of the most valuable lessons I learned.

Aesthetics (spelled æsthetics or esthetics) is a branch of philosophy dealing with the nature of beauty, art, and taste, with the creation and appreciation of beauty.[1] It is more scientifically defined as the study of sensory or sensori-emotional values, sometimes called judgments of sentiment and taste.[2] More broadly, scholars in the field define aesthetics as “critical reflection on art, culture and nature.” ~ Wikipedia

So let’s play a quick game. Before we start, I should point out that you don’t have to agree with me… it’s okay to have a different opinion in the world of decorating – that’s what makes it so wonderful! I’m going to show you two photo’s. Take a look at both and then tell me if you think one feels more “right”.  To me, there is a world of difference between the two.  The lamp was a gift, but something was really bugging me about it.  The other day I took a second to really look at that lamp and it hit me as to exactly why It was bugging me. Something was wrong. Once I identified it, all it took was a quick run to Lowe’s for a $3.98 purchase and now I adore this lamp. Do you know what it was? Take a look…

Can you spy the difference?

Here’s a close up…

I know it’s hard to tell in photos, but the finial on the left was a bit too tall and plastic with a bright shiny finish. It stuck out like a sore thumb. A finial should complement your lamp, not distract. The new one on the right (which was less than four dollars) is pretty, yet unassuming and the finish is the same as the rest of the lamp.  The crystal top compliments the original design. In person, it’s such a huge difference!

This guest bedroom is a neverending ongoing project. I’ll share it when I get finished 🙂

Have a great weekend… hopefully you’ll get to relax like our resident neighborhood night stalker who slept in my laundry basket all day. Meet Beanie…

He loves me. In the last three days he’s brought me a dead bat (which I almost picked up thinking it was a leaf), a dead mole which he smuggled into my dining room and a live baby bird which I rescued before he brought it into the house and sent it on it’s way. Lovely.  xo Amy

One thought on “I Spy…Aesthetics: It’s Often About the Little Things

Leave a Reply

