Alzheimer’s, Coconut Oil and The Nun Study

 

Official Portrait of President Ronald Reagan who passed away from Alzheimer’s on June 5th, 2005. (Picture from the Ronald Reagan Library, courtesy of the National Archives)

Alzheimer’s is a concern. Chances are it’s a concern to you too.  My guess is most likely someone you love or know, has been diagnosed with it. My husband’s grandmother had it. My aunt has it, my friend’s mother has it, my former business partner’s father-in-law had it. I don’t want it.

Did you know that…

  • 5.4 million Americans are living with Alzheimer’s disease.
  • One in eight older Americans has Alzheimer’s disease.
  • Alzheimer’s disease is the sixth-leading cause of death in the United States and the only cause of death among the top 10 in the United States that cannot be prevented, cured or even slowed.

Because of this, and specifically the third point above, I wanted to share a few things I’ve discovered regarding the disease. At the moment there isn’t a magic pill that gives me any confidence and honestly, I’m not a lover of pills anyway, but there are two things that give me hope. One is Coconut Oil and the other is the Nun Study.

Coconut Oil: I think I’ve mentioned it before – there’s really no proven studies behind it that I’ve seen, but has great reviews from people and loved ones diagnosed with Alzheimer’s who use it, nutritionally it’s good for you and purportedly it helps with weight loss. Sounds like a win-win to me. I’ve been trying to add it to my diet every day. It can’t hurt right?

I was skimming through a book called Coconut Oil for Health and Beauty by Cynthia and Laura Holzapfel last night and they write that Coconut Oil can prevent heart disease, doesn’t raise Cholesterol, reduces inflammation, reduces acne, heals wounds and promotes beautiful skin.

Coconut Oil itself is a bit odd in that if the temperature in your home is cool it will be in a solid form, but the minute your home warms up, it becomes liquid. I try to keep it in a warm place so I don’t have to melt it. You could just swallow a tablespoon each day, but I’m not sure why you would when you can add it to something else and not have any taste at all of it. It’s okay by mouth, but perfectly non-detectable when mixed with food or juice. By the way, the photo above is of my oldest son Michael on our vacation in Cayman a few years back drinking from a freshly cracked coconut, not really a photo of coconut oil, but isn’t he cute?

Since I have been juicing I don’t take any vitamins at all, but I do now add a Tbsp of Chia Seeds, Flax Seed and Coconut Oil to a smoothie or salad almost every single day. Is it working? I don’t know how you measure it except to say I feel great and my latest blood tests were all 100% normal. That’s good enough for me.

The Nun Study: You’ve heard this advice before… get moving, stay busy, exercise, blah, blah blah. I really do dread the thought of exercising, yet once I do it, I am so happy I did. Let’s take it one step further: Exercise and stay active to avoid memory loss. Now you really have my attention. You really need to watch this short clip on You Tube called the Nun Study – Click for Link

Here’s the Cliff Note Version: Nuns in this study who stayed active by exercising their brains and bodies, ultimately had very little, if any, memory loss.  Many of them had lived well into their 90’s and even 100’s. The key point here is an examination of their brains after their death revealed many of the nuns had full onset Alzheimer’s, yet showed ZERO symptoms of memory loss. Yes, I am going to start getting more exercise. You should too.

Okay, I’ll step off my “I love you, so you should do this too” soapbox now. I plan to answer more design questions this weekend, so send me any you may have. Heck, send me a question about anything… life, kids, football (O-H!)  – I love to answer those too! xo Amy

One thought on “Alzheimer’s, Coconut Oil and The Nun Study

  1. Pingback: The Amazing Benefits of Oil Pulling: Part I « Dish on Design

Leave a Reply

