Ten Things Your Class Reunion Will Teach You

Last weekend I went to a class reunion where I knew absolutely no one and no one knew me. I was an outsider looking in. I had no one to impress, no history with anyone in attendance and I knew I would probably never see them again. It was fun.

I met a lot of great people who were really very nice to me. I’d like to think they were nice because of my charm, but it may have been because they thought I was Jackie. Poor Jackie. Someone even called her Amy at breakfast on Sunday!

This week I started thinking about reunions, people and relationships. In no particular order, this is what I know…

Ten Things Your Class Reunion Will Teach You

1. Everyone is insecure about something. Weight, hair loss, appearance, financial status, social status, what they’re wearing, etc. I promise you this – everyone is insecure about something. It’s not even up for discussion.

2. People mask their insecurities in different ways. Some are shy, others  are flashy. There’s the braggers, the talk-down-to-you’ers and the endless story-tellers.  The more unbearable a person is, the more insecure they are. Sometimes it’s worth looking beyond the mask.

3. Everyone has a story. Introduce yourself to someone who is standing alone,  ask a question and listen. You’ll hear all kinds of interesting things and occasionally your life will be better because of it.

4. It really doesn’t matter what insert name here thinks. If by chance you run into a hateful person, please don’t waste a single second of your life thinking about those people. They don’t deserve your energy.

5. Follow your first instinct. If you are getting dressed and have to ask… are my boobs hanging out, are my pants too tight, does this look slutty, is this too casual, is my skirt too short, does this match, do I have on too much perfume/cologne… the answer is probably yes.

6. Labels don’t matter. It’s irrelevant if you were a cheerleader, football player, class president, class clown or juvenile delinquent. It doesn’t matter if you’re gay, fat, rich, poor, a doctor or uneducated. Stop with the labels. The beauty of the human race is everyone is uniquely different. Embrace that. Better yet, celebrate it.

7. Don’t take anything personal. How people act or treat you has nothing to do with you and everything to do with them. Remember, no one can make you miserable unless you allow them to.

8. First impressions lie. The one’s who look rich, often are not. The one’s who don’t, may be. A college ring doesn’t make you smart. Lack of a high school diploma does not translate into loser. Note: This last group includes Richard Branson (Virgin Air), Peter Jennings and Princess Diana

8. Don’t assume to know, because you don’t. Seek the truth, avoid gossip and become a better communicator. You will be humbled by what you will learn.

9. Judge Not. You’ve heard it before: Don’t judge a man until you have walked a mile in his shoes” Judging is ugly. Don’t do it.

10. Be your perfectly imperfect self. Have fun catching up and finding the people who want to know your story as much as you want to know theirs. The one’s who care about getting to know the real you are rare, but they are the one’s who count.

6 thoughts on “Ten Things Your Class Reunion Will Teach You

  1. Right on Amy. This is a really good post. I will see you when you get back in Florida. Have a great time in NYC. Love Kati

  2. Glad that you came. You & I presented a funny and enjoyable quandary at the reunion.
    You’re a beautiful woman. Happy to have been
    mistaken for you and you for me.

    Valid points. It’s good to simply enjoy rubbing elbows with dear friends and acquaintances. To see and remember those smiling and kind faces
    makes it all worthwhile.

  3. Amy, it was so nice to meet you at the reunion. I’m the short little lady that went to elementary, middle, and high school with Margie. 🙂

Leave a Reply

