31 Days of Juicing. Day 11: Stepping out of my Comfort Zone

I made a bold declaration in the beginning of this series that I didn’t like beets. I think I specifically said “They taste like dirt”. Today I officially admit I was wrong. I’ve learned that you shouldn’t judge a vegetable by just one recipe. That is a huge mistake.

I had sworn off beets totally, but often there is this little voice inside of me that suggests each little wonderful vegetable has some unique micro-nutrient to offer my body and that I really should start stepping out of my comfort zone of mostly green juice and carrot-apple-ginger.

On Monday I was at LaGuardia Airport wondering what on earth I was going to drink and asked someone if there was a juice bar around. Unbelievably, there was one less than 30 feet from where I was standing. The first thing I saw was their Standard Juice which was carrot, apple, parsley, beet, ginger and lemon. I wanted to stick with my normal, but my little voice insisted I  try it. Sometimes that little voice can be so smart, because it was delicious. Really, really good.

That got me thinking that I need to start exploring a wee bit more. My new self-imposed rule is every time I go to the market, I get ingredients for one or two new recipes to add to my normal. This afternoon I got the ingredients to attempt to re-create the beet concoction that I loved and also a fennel-pear juice. I’ll let you know tomorrow about one of them!

Today I felt really good again. I didn’t lose any weight today, but that’s the first time in 8 days, so that’s okay! My only complaint is that I have drippage down my throat and my chest is tight, but I’m pretty sure it has nothing to do with juicing and everything to do with this can’t-make-up-it’s-mind-weather. It goes from 40 to 70 degrees in a 24 hour period and allergies are going full steam ahead. Amy xo

To start at the beginning of the series, click here!

One thought on “31 Days of Juicing. Day 11: Stepping out of my Comfort Zone

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Juicing. Day 16: Taste Buds « Dish on Design

Leave a Reply

