31 Days of Juicing. Day 17: Test Results, Tomatoes and a Milestone

Blood Test Results

I told you the other day I ended up going to the Doctor for a check up to discuss my shortness of breath which she agreed was due to an allergic reaction to grapes and blueberries. That was good because it wasn’t my heart or anything worse. Bad because I love grapes and blueberries. She really wasn’t crazy about the juice fast – mostly because of the lack of protein, but she couldn’t argue the results she saw… 63 lb. weigh loss, not pre-diabetic anymore and good cholesterol was up.  As a precaution, she ran some blood tests.

As I suspected, all were perfect, including my protein count, with the exception of two. My Bilirubin test which is for your liver was still in the average range, but elevated from last year. BUT, apparently this is normal if you are fasting. I am going to get it re-tested next month as a precaution, but I’m not worried about it at all. The second was that my good cholesterol was still in a an okay range, but had dropped since my last visit. She said to get walking. I said okay. I walked 3 miles yesterday and am going to do the same today. In a nutshell: All is good.

Tomatoes

In my quest to explore new tastes and recipes, I decided to juice some tomatoes. I had tried them a while back, but I just couldn’t get the taste I wanted – like a V-8. Last night I tried again and it wasn’t bad, still not v-8, but nice for a change-up! Next time I’ll try it without the cucumber which I think waters it down a bit…

Recipe: Mildly Spicy Tomato Vegetable Juice 

  • 4-5 fresh tomatoes
  • 2 stalks of celery
  • 1/2 of a cucumber, peeled (I’m leaving this out next time for a more tomato taste)
  • 1 clover of garlic
  • Slice or two of onion. I used a chunk the size of 3 cloves of garlic
  • 1/4 of a green pepper

The picture at the top is of the ingredients, although I only ended up using 2 celery stalks. After you juice, salt and pepper to taste – I did very lightly. You might have to play with amounts above to get the taste you prefer! Also, it made 24 oz. so adjust according to how much you want!

Huge Milestone

I lost one more pound today and I am just going to say it… I AM NO LONGER OBESE! Okay, I shouted it, but this was one of two goals I had left on this journey. The first of course is to get to my goal weight and the second was to get my BMI index to read as overweight and not obese. Today it does. I still have ways to go to get to the main goal, but for the first time in a really long time it seems possible! Yay!  Amy xo

To start at the rest of the series, click here!

3 thoughts on “31 Days of Juicing. Day 17: Test Results, Tomatoes and a Milestone

Leave a Reply

