31 Days of Juicing. Day 17: A Natural Tan and Pumpkin Pie Juice

Turns out you don’t need to go to the sun-tanning booth or buy tanning cream for a tan, you can just drink lots of carrot juice and get color the natural way. And, much like tanning cream, if you you’re not careful, you can overdo it and turn orange. It’s true.

I’ve noticed over the last few months that I have some color. Now mind you, I am normally lily-white. It’s not that I don’t like a tan, but I just don’t have the patience for it and besides, all those UV rays aren’t good for you.

I noticed as I was waiting for the doctor to come in the other day, that my legs are not white anymore. They actually have some color, but when I looked close, my feet almost had an orange tinge. Haha! I guess I need to back off the carrots a bit!

I spent last night making a triple layer glazed carrot cake with buttercream icing for my husbands birthday which is today and decided I need to find something exciting for me to have while everyone is feasting on his birthday dinner tomorrow night.

I found a recipe for juicing pumpkin by Carey over at My Juice Cleanse and I tried it tonight. I didn’t even know you could juice a pumpkin, did you? Here’s the recipe, with a few tweaks…

Pumpkin Pie Juice

  • 4 cups  pumpkin chunks (1/2 – 1 whole pie pumpkin)
  • 1 apple
  • 1 pear
  • 2-3 carrots
  • 1/2 inch piece ginger
  • Pumpkin Pie spice to taste
  • Packet of Stevia

Do you know what a whole pie pumpkin is? I didn’t. It’s a little mini-pumpkin that is extra juicy and tender. Look for a pile of them at the market… the sign will say they’re pie pumpkins. Mine were 2 for $4.00.

Directions: Cut the pumpkin in half, scoop out the seeds and cut it into chunks with the skin on. Originally, I was going to peel off the skin, but it was a pain, so I ditched that idea. Put the chunks through the juicer along with the apple, pear, carrots and ginger. Sprinkle in the pumpkin pie spice and stir in the stevia.  Add ice if desired.  Makes approximately 24 oz.

It was delicious! Only thing that will keep me from making it a lot is that cutting up the pumpkin is kind of a pain.

I didn’t lose anything today, but I still feel really good. I am especially proud that I made dinner and a carrot cake from scratch and did not take one single lick or bite of anything. I wasn’t even really tempted! Amy xo

To start at the beginning of the series, click here!

3 thoughts on “31 Days of Juicing. Day 17: A Natural Tan and Pumpkin Pie Juice

  1. Pingback: 31 Days of Juicing. Day 1: Just Do It. « Dish on Design

  2. Pingback: 31 Days of Juicing. Day 21: Peach Pie Juice « Dish on Design

  3. Juicing can be a good way to improve your nutrition. As many fruits and vegetables contain a plethora of the vitamins and minerals your body needs it can be a fast, easy, fun, and a healthy way to incorporate these nutrients into your diet. Be sure to consume a variety of fruits and vegetables, and make sure to include leafy greens in your juice mixes for the maximum benefit.

Leave a Reply

