31 Days of Juicing. Day 19: Why I Believe You Can Do This

A lot of people have commented that I must have an amazing will power to go out with friends, cook a big meal, last this long, etc… and not fall off a little bit. I have to tell you that I am amazed too, but I shouldn’t be. Why? Because this isn’t something I started on a whim. It’s not a new fad diet or plan that isn’t sustainable. It’s a slow lifestyle change that has come about over the last year or so.

Before I started juicing and eventually started this fast, I did extensive research about juicing and read everything I could get my hands on about it. Along the way, I discovered countless testimonials of how juicing can benefit you whether you need to lose weight and/or just want to get healthier.

I started with baby steps, buying a juicer and experimenting with different recipes… finding what I liked and didn’t. I juiced maybe twice a day and within the first week I noticed how clear my skin was, that the puffiness had left my eyes and how energized I felt. If I missed a few days, I immediately felt a difference. When the weight started coming off little by little, I was excited, but the real aha moment was when I stopped juicing and gained 6 lbs. I started juicing again and it immediately fell off. That was when I realized this is something I could live with. In the past, gaining 6 pounds would have sent me into a tailspin of hopelessness and I would have just kept eating – gaining back what I lost and more.

What I’ve discovered is it’s okay to fall backwards, but it’s also easy to get back on track. I found that I love how it makes me feel and now I look for healthy food to eat as opposed to the crap I used to crave. I am encouraged that this is something that will stick, for the first time in my life.

Why do I think you can do this? Because if I can, so can you. I was a binge eater and an emotional eater. At times I still am, but the difference is now I can control it. I want to control it and juicing gives me the tools to control it. I am confident in this. Trust me. I know what it’s like to eat a bag of chips without thinking about it, to have cravings so bad,  you eat all the Halloween candy and have to run out for more.

I also know the helpless feeling of knowing I am missing out on life by not being a participant in life. By not swimming in the ocean with my kids because of the shame of being in my swimsuit, by sitting in the shadows at times because of how I looked. I know what it feels like to believe what you need to accomplish is out of your reach.

I know it’s about mindset and choices. I know that you just don’t wake up one day and get to where I am, because life changes don’t just happen. They are all part of a journey and this journey starts with little changes that eventually turn into something you can embrace. Something that will change your life for the good.

Start today. Make a committment to yourself. Start with baby steps by passing up something unhealthy. Add fruits and vegetables into your diet and explore healthy recipes. Try to avoid anything in a box or processed. Only eat things that benefit your body. Make little changes and start juicing once a day. Give yourself a hug when you have a bad day and when you have a good day… well, that’s all the reward you need – good days feel great! You can do it… you really can. We can do it together! We’re worth it! xo Amy

P.S. If you have any questions, ask away! I love to share what I’ve learned along this journey.

P.S.S. I lost another pound! That’s 13 pounds in 16 days of juice only. Yay!

To start at the beginning of this series, click here!

One thought on “31 Days of Juicing. Day 19: Why I Believe You Can Do This

Leave a Reply

