31 Days of Juicing. Day 29: Probiotics

I have a bottle of probiotics in my refrigerator that I bought for my son a while back. Over the years he has had countless throat infections and I know all the antibiotics he has taken have probably destroyed the good bacteria along with the bad. Probiotics are helpful because they restore the good bacteria that antibiotics destroy.

I’ve been wondering if maybe I should take it, because I’ve read that it also can help with digestive problems and constipation. The latter being a problem I’ve been battling lately – even smooth move isn’t helping. Yes, we’re talking about “that” again. Sorry.

Kombucha is a cultured tea that is loaded with enzymes, probiotics and antioxidants. I first tried it over at my friend Lisa’s house. Lisa of PickMeYard – guru of everything natural and interesting, had made a pot of it from scratch and gave me a sample to taste. It’s definitely an acquired taste with a strong fermented flavor, but it’s supposed to be incredibly good for you. Of course, as with anything natural, there are debates about it as you can read in this article.

Lisa said to drink the Kombucha with a straw, as it can be tough on your teeth. She also told me to check out Rejuvelac, saying it’s easier to make on your own, better for you than Kombucha, safer and works better as a laxative. Here’s some information about Rejuvelac. I just might have to try making that soon!

Last night we stopped at Whole Foods and we split a bottle of Organic Raw Kombucha. We tried the GT’s Classic Organic Raw Third Eye Chai. It was actually very good. Within hours I was a fan! Translation: If you’re constipated, try it!

There are debates as to whether probiotics are effective when juicing, but I say it’s worth a try!

Today is a good day! We walked four miles and had a pineapple, kiwi, pear, strawberry and mango juice for breakfast! xo Amy

To start at the beginning of the series, click here!

Leave a Reply

